## **RESOLUTION NO. 8927**

## A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE CARBON-FREE AND ENVIRONMENTAL STEWARDSHIP BENEFITS OF HYDROPOWER

## Recitals

WHEREAS, hydroelectric dams generate 80 percent of the carbon-free energy in our region, which has made the Pacific Northwest a national leader in clean, renewable energy production;

WHEREAS, thanks to hydropower, Washington State's energy is among the cleanest and least expensive in the nation, which power's our region's economy and helps to keep the air we breath clean with emissions-free electricity;

WHEREAS, hydropower plays a critical role in integrating variable or intermittent energy resources like wind and solar energy, because of the storage, dependability, and ramping capability hydropower possesses to increase or decrease its generation to meet electricity demand;

WHEREAS, federal and locally-owned hydropower dams on the Columbia River system have invested billions of dollars in fish-passage technology to provide for successful passage at hydropower facilities;

WHEREAS, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries has found that the operation of these dams is unlikely to jeopardize endangered salmon, steelhead or Southern Resident orcas, and NOAA Fisheries research shows that survival of juvenile fish past the eight dams on the lower Columbia and the lower Snake rivers is better now than when the Snake was free-flowing;

WHEREAS, NOAA Fisheries analysis showed that Chinook from the rivers that flow into the Salish Sea (including Puget Sound) – not the Columbia and Snake Rivers, which drain directly into the Pacific Ocean – are the top priority salmon stocks for Southern Resident Orcas; and biologists have indicated that due to geography and timing, Snake River salmon are not the "key limiting resource or prey" for Southern Resident Orcas;

WHEREAS, many residents in the Pacific Northwest are served by not-for-profit electric utilities, such as co-ops, municipalities, rural electric utilities, and public utility districts (PUDs), and some of these utilities operate locally-owned hydropower facilities and many others purchase hydropower generated by federal dams from the Bonneville Power Administration (BPA);

WHEREAS, BPA has identified the federally-owned Lower Snake River Dams as important renewable energy resources that annually produce 1,000 average megawatts of carbon-free power generation for the region;

WHEREAS, the Northwest Power Planning and Conservation Council (NWPPC) has identified that the region may need to add an estimated 400 megawatts of new energy capacity to serve the region's growing power demand by 2021;

WHEREAS, a 2017 study by the Energy & Environmental Economics illustrates the important value of hydropower to achieve carbon reduction goals in the electric sector at the least cost;

WHEREAS, the state of Washington enacted the Clean Energy Transformation Act (CETA) in 2019, which established a goal for 100 percent of all retail energy sales to come from carbon free resources by 2045, and includes hydropower in meeting that goal;

WHEREAS, Public Utility District No. 2 of Grant County (Grant PUD) is a member of Northwest River Partners (NWRP), an alliance of farmers, consumer-owned electric utilities and businesses that advocates for the bettering of our communities, our region, and the world through our low-cost, carbon-free hydropower system; and

WHEREAS, Grant PUD encourages the balanced use of Columbia Basin rivers, while working towards solutions that help hydropower and salmon coexist and thrive.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Public Utility District No. 2 of Grant County (Grant PUD), Washington supports the carbon-free and environmental stewardship benefits of hydropower and opposes the removal of the four Lower Snake River Dams, which is counter to regional, state and local efforts underway to support clean energy production.

PASSED AND APPROVED by the Commission of Public Utility District No. 2 of Grant County, Washington, this 8<sup>th</sup> day of October, 2019.

President

ΔΤΤΕςΤ.

Secretary Scheop

Vice President

Commissioner

Commissioner